Is Trident Gum Vegan?
Vegan or non-vegan, all of us want to have a snack, that is sweet, and that has some taste that you adore – fruity, maybe with some mix, but also incredibly refreshing).
And preferably, that does not make a problem on your waistline, and if you are a vegan that does not jeopardize your vegan diet. We know that this sounds like too much for just one food item to have, but there is.
One item that comes to our minds is chewing gum – it is even good for all of us who feel stress; it can relieve stress and make you concentrate much easier, but some of them can make your smile better.
All vegans out there are wondering is there any brand that is safe for them to eat – along with all of this that we have mentioned above.
There is, and you will see what kind.
Chewing gum is a typical spontaneous product, and in most cases, it is purchased unplanned – if it is placed in a noticeable place in the store you are in.
Consumption of this snack item is very high, and purchases must be equally frequent, so chewing gum can be found in most shops, markets or even in pharmacies.
But the most convenient place to buy a chewing gum shop is a cash register, where the frequency of consumers is highest and where they expect to chew.
Now, if we want to look at the statistics, we can see that chewing gum is the most commonly purchased category of cashier products.
Given the high degree of impulsiveness during the purchase, the constant presence and marketing battles of manufacturers are necessary.
Here, we want to look at one specific brand Trident Gum – is this gum suitable for vegans? Read here.
It has been here a long time
Although chewing gum may be thought to be a product of modern times, the fact is that people around the world have been chewing natural raw materials hundreds of years back.
The ancient Greeks had been chewing “gums” for centuries -they eat the substance that is formed from a resin found in the bark of mastic wood that grows mainly in Greece and Turkey.
The New England Indians taught the American colonists to quench their thirst by chewing gum like gum, which forms on the cut bark of a spruce tree.
In almost any culture and civilizations in the world, there are at least one primitive versions of chewing gum.
But the chewing gum we know (and love) today comes from 1869 when the US-born Thomas Adams invented chewing gum as he struggled to find a way to produce more economical car tires.
By mixing chickpeas, a substance derived from ebony wood or some other material, and he created probably the first commercial chewing gum he called Adams New York chewing gum. This was the basis for every subsequent chewing gum that will come on the market.
In 1893, the William Wrigley Company, based in Chicago, introduced two new chewing gums, Juicy Fruit and Wrigley’s Spearmint.
But, the market never stood still – and many other brands found their place among the people.
Trident Gum is the brand that also finds a place in the gum market – they are known for their sugar-free gums, and they have been present since the 60s.
It is made in the UK, and it finds its place in many European countries.
They use saccharin instead of sugar, and this is the company that first spoke about the importance of teeth care, and some of their marketing campaigns were based on this idea.
In modern days the manufactures of chewing gums, the rubber base that is used for the production of gums are made of artificial raw material, latex, and is divided into two main categories, chewing gum and bubble gum (this is the kind that is much elastic).
In recent years, the non-stick gum base and bubble gum have been formulated to meet the needs of even more consumers -this is one item that is fighting for their customers on the market also).
Most chewing gum is made from the finest sugar cane powder, sugar beet and corn syrup. Chewing gum is available in several forms, such as a leaf, dragee, strip or stuffed dragee. As you can see all of these are vegan-friendly, but the problematic part may come at the moment when the base is enhanced to get some colors and flavors – it all depends on the additions, are they vegan or not.
In the case of the Trident Gums, as it is written on their web site, their chewing gums are vegan unless it is written on the package that they are not.
They are Trident Vibes, Unwrapped, Classic, and White -if you are a vegan, you can eat them all. The flavors that are available for vegans are besides original taste – Tropical Twist, Cinnamon, Bubblegum and spearmint. Ooh, La Lemon, Tropical Beat and Spearmint Rush.
Watermelon Twist, Wintergreen, Passionberry Twist, Lime Passionfruit Twist and Splashing Mint, and Cool Rush are just one of the amazing tastes that you can consume if you like chewing gums, and you are a vegan.
Is Trident Gum Vegan?
New shapes and flavors are created almost daily in the chewing gum market, and we can say that it is not just the kids that love to eat them; many of us truly enjoy their taste.
When you look at the market of chewing gums, you will be able to see that current trends are in the direction of new, exciting, flavors and an additional teeth whitening effect, and there is the emergence of liquid-filled chewing gums. The Trident Company was one of the first companies in the world that recognized this trend, they are known for their sugar-free gums, and for also their whitening effect.
Not only products are being improved, but also packaging that is becoming more environmentally friendly – this is one thing that all of you vegans would like to know, and maybe one of the leading reasons to choose this gum.
Manufacturers are paying more attention to the introduction of new, recyclable and environmentally friendly packaging – and Trident Company is no exception to this trend.
As you were able to see in our previous section, these chewing gums are in the majority of cases vegan-friendly.
Our research has shown that the Trident Gum’s is indeed e vegan gum, even if you find some contradictory information online. The company has stated that its product is animal-free.
Of course, you must keep in mind that there are some that are not vegan, like for example Trident Layers and Trident Splash, and the reason is that they have a gelatin that comes from an animal source or in this case beef gelatin. All others you can chew if you are a vegan.
Is Trident Gum Healthy?
Let us come to the one more part that is relevant for all consumers in the market, and also for vegans out there that are reading this piece! Is it unhealthy to eat/chew gums?
On the waste market, there are so many kinds that are filled with sugar and artificial tastes, and of course, they are not good for you, primarily for your teeth.
But if you choose some other brand, that is known, and where you can check the ingredients list, you will find out more about their effect on your health.
For example, it is truly interesting important to mention that the Greeks gladly chewed mastic to clean their teeth and freshen their breath with the sweet smell of resin.
Chewing gums and their properties follow today’s consumer lifestyles and their specificities. As lifestyles change, chewing gum is no longer treated as just sweets because of the added benefits they provide.
According to some studies, chewing not only helps prevent caries and improves oral health; it can help during a diet and weight management, and also chewing for better focus, concentration and alertness, or for reducing stress.
So, the next time you feel that you are under stress, instead of something too sweet, or cigarette take a chewing gum.
If you are a vegan, then you know what kind you can use – in the section above you can see that the Trident Gums are vegan and that you are free to chew so many kinds of them.
You will not feel guilty because, you know that they will not make you a problem for your line, and maybe they can help your teeth to become whiter.
Chewing gum holds first and second place in the sales list of confectionery products up to 100g. According to some research that was conducted in the year 2008, the most popular form of chewing gum the one that has a refreshing taste (like spearmint), that is sugar-free and vegan!
Consumers all around the world have recognized the benefits of sugar-free chewing gum, and 93.3 per cent of the products purchased are sugar-free products.
The chewing gum market is also divided into adult chewing gum and bubble gum, with the adult category accounting for 97.5 per cent of the chewing gum market share.
Trident Gum is one of those that are often bought, by older and younger people – but, here the question is can vegans eat it, and we have resolved this for you.
They can and as our further research has shown is that they are not problematic for your health!
As in all other cases, take a good look at labels, and always try to be informed, as much as you can.