Is Bubble Tea Vegan?
Just because you are on your vegan journey, it does not mean that you can avoid some of your responsibilities and the fact that you are constantly on the move – you still have to be ready to eat properly, balanced food that is ok with your vegan diet.
It’s no good waiting for you to get home and cook one meal for the whole day!
The best way not to fail with your vegan diet is to organize yourself with the commitments, groceries you have in your kitchen, and the money you can set aside for food that is vegan. This is amazing advice for all those who have families that are not vegan, but who want to follow their vegan journey still.
Now, the main part of that food is, besides all other things are freshly squeezed juices, fruits, fruit salads or fresh salads are available every step of the way – from markets and shops to bars and restaurants. Besides, there is a lot of tea, juice and packets of healthy snacks, such as fresh hazelnuts, dates, almonds, apples, bananas, prunes, etc.
In some cases, the favorite vegan drinks are those where this is all combined – the bubble tea. And in the same way this tea sounds, we assure you that its taste is also delicious. As so many readers of this piece found interesting is that this tea is vegan, or to be more precise, can be vegan.
What is the Bubble Tea?
Bubble tea originated in Taiwan in the 1980s, and even today, it is the drink that is associated with the Asian countries.
It was made based on the assumption that one tea vendor wanted to be innovative and to add different fruit flavors to the tea, so he did.
To add the flavors and to blend well with the tea, the glass had to be stirred, and thus the Bubble was the name of this popular beverage.
In the early 1980s, tapioca beads appeared in Taiwan, and so many people started to add it to their favorite drinks. Because of their round shape, the name Bubble tea got even more significant.
The original Bubble tea is made of a blend of black tea, milk and tapioca beads with added syrup or honey. There are so many combinations today that it is impossible to list them all – the basis can be black tea, black tea with milk and green tea, fruit syrups, powdered flavors and balls of different flavors, as well as fresh fruit.
The final mixture is placed in a shaking machine when bubbles are formed, and then the glass is covered with cellophane, through which a straw is punched.
In addition to making the brewing process very interesting, Bubble tea is a beverage that allows you to play with flavors and combinations and discover some new possibilities for drinking tea each time – because the base is just that tea, just a lot more fun.
You can make your own version
Bubble Tea is a beverage based on green or black tea with natural fruity aromas, clear or creamy. This is a rather innovative product, so the biggest fans of this cocktail are mostly young. It is basically a tea to which tapioca balls are added.
There are many combinations because tapioca balls come in many flavors and with their gelatinous texture create the perfect contrast to the tea. If you bite on one of them, you will feel the explosion of taste and the effect that made this drink so popular.
Get creative and take advantage of numerous syrups and additives – we have flavored maracas peaches, mangoes, melons, red guavas, blueberries, vanilla, coconut, oranges, strawberries, cherries…
Bubble Tea is a unique cocktail, and the summer that is (hopefully) ahead of us is the perfect time to freshen up with this beverage. Still, because of its variety and a wide variety of flavors, Bubble Tea is the perfect drink for any time of the year.
Is Bubble Tea vegan?
Here we come to the question – is something that is not making out of animal products, for a sure vegan? No, it is not.
This is one drink that is very modern these days, and Asian Americans adore it for a long time now, but this is a tea that is made out of tapioca pearls, milk and mixture of green or black tea.
But the fact that this drink is so versatile, it does not have to be vegan always, and especially the problematic parts are toppings, that usually do have ingredients that are not vegan. Also, some use honey to make their tea sweeter, and in this case, it cannot be vegan. Others put some toppings on the bubble tea, in many cases cream or pudding and this also cannot be vegan.
On the other hand, some toppings are vegan – like jellies that are made out of sugar; in this case, they are vegan.
Alternatives to real milk, those who are not vegans use condensed milk that is sweet, are soy milk, almond milk, or you can make it without any milk. Some add fruit juice.
In this way, you can make a vegan tea of your choice
Additionally, tea that you use as a main ingredient in the bubble tea is vegan, because tea comes from a plant.
To make sure your bubble tea is vegan, you should use an artificial sweetener. That is vegan, or you can simply use Stevie or some other natural sweetener that is vegan if you are not sure about the vegan status of your chosen sweetener.
Tapioca pearls are vegan, and they come from the plant – cassava root, so here there cannot be any doubt can you eat them if you follow a vegan diet.
Is Bubble tea healthy?
You have certainly heard many times about how healthy teas are, but it is good to know that there are many more benefits to having a healthy drinking habit, especially if you are a vegan.
At the beginning of this piece, we have said that when you are a vegan, drinking fruit juices and good quality teas – this is vegan and very healthy for you.
Drinking tea every day means letting your health into your life, refining your mind and body, and being at peace with yourself. Teas are full of the benefits of their ingredients.
White tea is the most refined tea and has the mildest taste, often used in the preparation of meals, as a spice, usually milder types of creams, such as vanilla cream. It has a significant role in cosmetics and is used in the prevention and prevention of many diseases. Green tea and black tea are made from the same plant Camellia sinensis.
Black tea has a high percentage of caffeine, which will keep you awake, while green tea is your most trusted ally in the fight against weight loss.
A cup of hot tea in winter while the snow is outside is a favorite winter ritual, but remembers that it is important to drink tea in the summer as well, and iced teas are really the best refreshment on these warm days.
If you are not sure which to choose, you can try some of our wonderful teas in many flavors and colors. They are intended for those who want to enjoy and be healthy at the same time.
Tapioca tea or the Bubble tea as it is a more modern version is considered to be the healthiest tea in the world. Tapioca is a polysaccharide that is derived from the plant that is called cassava root, as we have said. It comes from Brazil, but it is used around the world.
Tapioca has a neutral taste and great power in a sense that acts like gelatin, an element that thickens all other elements in some salty or sweet dish.
Unlike cornstarch, tapioca can withstand the freezing cycle so as not to lose or break its gel structure.
Tapioca contains 80% digestible starch and is great for all those who do not tolerate gluten because it does not contain it. Tapioca is a traditional element in many products that are without any gluten.
It does not have any proteins or any far, only traces of it, so for example, just 150 grams of these beads has around 500 calories, around 150 carbohydrates, and some dietary grain.
It is used as a thickening agent for meals, for the preparation of puddings, sweet desserts, sweet drinks, soups, sauces, etc. It is mostly used in Japanese, Brazilian, Indian and other cuisines of the world.
Bubble beverage as we like to call it, but there is nothing wrong in naming it tea, but we have said beverage that is generally served cold, refreshing and sweet with the addition of tapioca beads at the bottom of the glass.
It is more like some iced coffee, because of the milky appearance and bites of ice. When some toppings are added, then you get one colorful drink that looks and tastes appetizing.
Sometimes these bubbly drinks (also we mean the vegan version) drinks are made with fresh fruits, syrups of different flavors and sweeteners that fall under the vegan rules, no-animal.
Tapioca beads are black in color, and in addition to the classic tapioca beads can be made with other flavors – mostly fruits, and the type of fruit depends on the color of the beads.
The consistency of the tapioca bead’s consistency is jelly-like, almost like rubber candy but softer, and it does not impose a problem in meals or drinks. The sizes are smaller than the clicker, which is why the tea is drunk with a wide straw that the balls can pass through. Beads are also known as “bobber” – so the tea itself is also called “Bobba tea” in some parts of the world.
Yes, the Bubble tea is vegan, as long as you make the right replacements, you can hold a very pleasant vegan-friendly bubble tea that you can drink as much as you want. Online you can find numerous versions of homemade bubble tea, so try it, if you want to be sure that it is 100 per cent vegan.