Are Doritos Vegan?
A vegan diet does not exclude eating snacks, and we can even say that they are great for vegans (some claim that when they start their vegan journey, they often feel hunger, before they learn how to eat and balance meals properly), but like in everything there has to be some mindful decision-making process about what you buy and eat as a snack.
Common sense tells you that even if you are not vegan, you should eat healthy snacks – and if you cannot resist eating something salty and crunchy, opt for some healthier chips.
It is advisable that you eat a lot of fruit, vegetables, some healthy snacks and dips (like hummus with thinly sliced vegetables, or some salsa with homemade corn chips), but what about those snacks that you already love to eat, maybe you wonder can you eat them.
We can totally understand why some vegans at the beginning of their vegan journey “make mistakes” in choosing snacks.
As you already know, chips is one of the most favorite snacks in the world – and the variations that we have are endless, there is thin, tick, salty, sweet, with a lot of spices.
In that group, we must certainly include Doritos – one of the most favorite snacks in the world, mostly those that are Spicy or with Cheese.
These are the ones that are mostly sold.
Golden things with spice
Accidentally made, became one of the most sold-out snacks in the world
On today’s market, there are so many versions of these chips, and online, there are numerous recipes that use them as a base.
Their origin is not clear, but we think that the story goes that one customer in one restaurant wanted something, and that the chef made it, and that it became something regular on the menu.
But the idea about the corn chips made the world fall in love with it, and it did – from the late 60s, and the most interesting flavor in those times was a taco.
Their owner is PepsiCo.
Their marketing in the world is very interesting – they are branded and marketed as not just your regular tortilla chips. The marketing states that it can be your “fuel” of a flammable taste that sets off on an adventure. “That is why it can only be bitten by those who push the boundaries, seek intense taste, a new shape, and a completely different snacking experience.”
It is one of the most wanted snacks in movie theatres, beside of course popcorn.
When they were first made they have not been seasoned, that now has become their trademark, they were just plain corn chips.
When you translate Doritos, you get with golden things.
Some say that after they eat Doritos, a strange taste remains in their mouth, and the company is working hard to change this.
Nowadays, you have flavors like Yoghurt and Mint or Tuna Mayonnaise.
A Hollywood actress Jennifer Lawrence stated that she eats them all the time.
Some people like to buy regular Doritos and season them themselves, while others opt to blend the box of Doritos and sprinkle some other dishes, salad for example.
Is Doritos Vegan?
We have to tell you that most of the flavors of Doritos you know and love, and usually eat are not vegan, because they have so many dairy products, like milk, or Cheese. This is the element that gives them such a cool taste, but unfortunately for all those vegans, they are usually not vegan friendly. Of course, in some cases, there are exceptions.
The two kinds that are not vegan are Cool Ranch and Nacho Cheese, and also Salsa Verde, Spicy Nacho and Taco. The rest are not vegan -in any case, you need to take a good look at the ingredients list and even when in doubt to contact the manufacturer.
The problematic part in those Doritos that are not vegan is the presence of ranch that ha mayo in them (it is made out of eggs mixed with oil). Some are flavored with yoghurt mixture, so they are also out of the question.
If you try these kinds, you will see that they have an amazing taste and that you will enjoy them too.
If you are not into Doritos, but you would like to snack something, maybe a good choice or you can be BBQ Lay’s, Fritos, or BBQ Pringles.
But if you want Doritos, then take a good look at the ingredients list; the vegan will be hard to see, so you need to know what you are buying, and what the parts on the list are.
But, we can tell you right now that are the best to eat to corn chips, then some other, and here are the reasons.
In any case, vegans should always opt for tortilla chips rather than potato chips, because potato chips per serving serve 15 calories more than tortilla chips. None of the chips contains fiber or protein.
But when it comes to fat, things get more interesting: tortilla chips contain less saturated fat but have ten times more Tran’s fat. Of course, one serving only contains 0, 2 g of Trans fat, but since the recommendation for daily intake is only 2 g, one should be careful.
None of the chips is expected to be rich in vitamins and minerals, but potato chips have more sodium. Tortilla chips contain 38 per cent less sodium.
In any case, do not opt for regular chips if you have an option to eat tortilla chips – there can be a healthier version with some salsa dip made out of fresh tomatoes and paprika.
Is Doritos Healthy?
Let us speak a few rows about the regular chips – and in the beginning, we must say that unlike everyone thinks, potato chips are produced from potatoes, you are obligated to know that some are made from a composite of potato flakes, wheat, corn, and rice.
Now, you think that you are eating potato chips when you are, in fact, eating a mixture of something else.
Another problem arises from the fact that chips are usually fried, and we mean deep-fried, and this is the part that is most problematic, at least when it comes to health.
It is a known fact that deep frying foods create a carcinogenic substance called acrylamide. It occurs when foods rich in carbohydrates are roasted at high temperatures. When a golden yellow color appears on the food after frying, it indicates that it has acrylamide.
Chips are extremely fatty food because they have a high percentage of fat and therefore calories. The average calorie value of chips in a 45g bag is 246 kcal as much as 12 teaspoons of sugar.
If you eat about 30 grams of chips every day, you will gain 1 kg every four years.
Some studies say that chips are food that will put extra weight on you, more than meat products and sugary drinks.
Chips have low values of vitamins and minerals so if it is on your daily menu know that you are not eating well and that your body lacks vitamins and minerals
The sodium content of the chips can badly affect your cardiovascular system and can lead to an increase in blood pressure. It can lead to cardiovascular disease, kidney failure, stroke and cardiac arrest.
Frequent consumption of chips can lead to an increase in harmful LDL cholesterol in the blood because the oils in which the chips are fried are saturated fats that contribute to the rise of this cholesterol.
You can make healthier variations of the chips yourself by cutting the potatoes into thin slices as in sacks, lightly salting them and lightly oiling them, and baking them in an oven in a dry baking tray that you only put baking paper in. Healthier variants such as apple chips and the like can also be purchased.
One of the versions that are also an option is the one when you choose corn tortilla chips – it is better than regular chips, and even here opt for non-cheese version.
You can make your own, vegan version
If you want to be 100 per cent sure what you are eating, and want to make your own version, we have one interesting recipe for your pleasure, and what is even better you will be able to alter it according to your preference.
You are going to need for this specialty:
One dl corn flour
130 ml of water
25 ml of olive oil
Four tablespoons of sesame seeds
Five tablespoons of flaxseed
Five tablespoons of sunflower
Chili and salt (for sprinkling)
Pour the dry ingredients into a large bowl, drizzle with olive oil and finally pour over boiling water and combine with a spoon. The mass should be in a perfect substance because it is not; it cannot be shaped by the hands. If you don’t like some of the seeds, throw them out, you can put more of your favorites. This is the part that you can be very creative.
Take the baking tray out of the oven, put in baking paper and hand over the mixture, then put another baking paper over the mixture, press the palm with your hand, and then spread the mass along with the entire baking tray with a small cloth. Finally remove the top paper, salt and sprinkle some chili (if you like).
Turn the oven to 150 degrees and bake for at least 25 minutes with the fan on (depending on the oven until the chips are crispy). Before baking, you can cut triangles like I do with a knife or bake the whole plate and break the pieces. If you decide to duplicate the mass, bake at once, but in the middle of the baking swap places with pans.
You can eat this healthy snack with a variety of salsas and sauces. You can make your vegan version from whatever vegetables you have in your home garden, but not just that you can put some lemon or lime to make it tangy.
As we have said, the options are endless. For those who want to feel the flavor of store-bought Doritos, they can make a mixture of spices and sprinkle that over the chips.
In one other source, we have fins that vegan Doritos are those that named Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips. In them there is corn, salt, and some vegetable oil, it can be corn oil; it can be canola or sunflower oil. They do not have any additions, but you can make your own salsa, for example, or some vegan dip, there are millions online to inspire you.
Some say that also Spicy Sweet Chili is the ones that you can also eat – they have as an addition some Fructose, Maltodextrin, Malic Acid, Onion Powder, Dextrose, Spices, Paprika, Garlic Powder, Salt, Soy Sauce, Sodium Diacetate, Disodium Guanylate, Caramel Color, Disodium Inosinate, Torula Yeast, Monosodium Glutamate, Corn Protein, and Natural Flavor. Looking at these ingredients like this, we cannot find anything that will sound a bit animal.
In this case, the natural color may be problematic, because it can come from an animal source. Problem is sugar that can be in contact with some animal sources during the production, particularly in the US. It is up to you will this be a problem on your vegan journey or not.
Some vegans say that this is ok, while others say that this out of the question and that it must be avoided by all means. The same rule can be applied to the caramel sauce that is often used.
And in the end, caramel is made out of sugar, so in some cases, it cannot be vegan.
In any case, whatever you choose your family to eat, be safe and enjoy – the vegan journey should not be torture; it is everything but. Just choose your food wisely, and read the labels if you love store-bought stuff.