Are Frosted Flakes Vegan?
Vegans are people who do not eat meat, milk and dairy products, eggs, seafood, or fish but do not buy or wear leather, fur, or any other material of animal origin and use animal-tested products. It is not just a way of eating, and it is much more than that, it is currently a set of beliefs and a lifestyle.
But, as we have written so many times, there are so many misconceptions when it comes to a vegan diet, and in that sense, we must break one in the beginning.
One of the biggest misconceptions is that vegan food is not very colorful and that vegans eat more or less the same food. This is not true! Only those who are undedicated and uninformed can say something like this.
Vegan food is very colorful, and most vegans soon after switching to a plant-based diet come to the conclusion that the average diet is monotonous and repetitive, and that when you are seemingly limited with food (you cannot eat anything that comes from an animal source), you must become much more creative then you have been before your vegan diet.
What is the most problematic aspect when it comes to a vegan diet is, as many say, breakfast. It is certainly something that must fulfill some standards, as we know that it is the most important meal of the day, and not many of us have time to make it right.
A healthy breakfast is called “king of all meals” and should not be skipped. Yet we often break this unwritten rule – perhaps thanks to our stressful lifestyle.
Even if we find time to eat something in the early hours of the morning, we usually do it “off our feet” or choose some completely wrong combination, and later wonder why we are tired every day, without energy and overweight, which we cannot explain since we eat only twice a day? Maybe the answer lies right in the breakfast and the mistakes we make about it – our guess is that vegans have even more problems.
Now, the common breakfast is some bowl of cereals, and of the “sweetest” are Frosted Flakes, a big favorite among kids for sure. For our readers, we raise a question – is it vegan?
Sugary Cereal for breakfast
This kind of sugary Cereal exists on the market since the 50s (it held on its popularity for decades), and it also belongs to the Kellogg’s factory, as the majority of famous cereals.
This is one very popular kind of Cereal that is made out of corn, it has a decent amount of sugar, and as the name suggests, it has frosting that is also sweet thanks to the corn syrup that is very, very sweet and one very common ingredient in the food.
The problem with this product arises from the fact that in it, there are numerous unknown and hidden elements that can hardly be determined are they vegan, as this is the question that puzzles us the most.
One of them is pyridoxine hydrochloride, but it is not the only one, there can be found one more item that is sodium ascorbate.
This brand has been known by the name Sugar Frosted Flakes, and later on, it changed its name, which is recognizable today all over the world.
Its popular mascot is Tiger that has a name, Tony – its appearance has changed during years, many times, according to the time and current marketing campaign.
A couple of years in a row, this was the number 1 selling Cereal in the USA, most notably in the year 2018.
One interesting thing is that this is one brand of Cereal whose mascot is turned to athleticism, and its promotion, especially with children that are the main consumers of this product, and in that way, and it has a perfect sense.
In different countries around the world, this product has different names.
Still, all this popularity worldwide does not answer our question – can vegans eat Frosted Flakes? We need to take a look into the ingredients and find out as much information that we can about it.
Primarily, Frosted Flakes are made out of milled corn, and then there is sugar, High fructose corn syrup, and Salt, Malt Flavoring, and Sodium ascorbate (Sodium ascorbate is a buffered form of Vitamin C that boosts immunity, contributes to the formation of collagen and enables the absorption of iron).
There can also be found in Ascorbic acid. Like so many other cereals on the market, this kind is also enriched with vitamins and minerals like Vitamin b12, Niacinamide, BHT, Pyroxidine hydrochloride, Riboflavin, Folic acid, Reduced Iron, Vitamin A palmitate, Thiamine hydrochloride and in the end the “problem” and that is Vitamin D or its source.
Many nutritionists say that no artificial form of vitamins and minerals can substitute the real deal that comes from integral products, like fruits and vegetables. Nothing can substitute that kind of vitamin that comes directly from the produce.
Now, as far as the vegan status goes – we think that you already know the answer – the two problematic elements are Vitamin D and sugar (for some). In fact, both ingredients are problematic for some, while for some, there is no problem.
Are Frosted Flakes Vegan?
You can see for yourself that Frosted Flakes are not an option for you, because they have Vitamin D that is extracted through sheep’s wool, and white sugar that comes from the process of extracting bone char.
Others say that sugar is safe to consume because, in the sugar itself, not one part of bone char comes. But it is up to you and what you are comfortable with.
The bigger issue, in this case, maybe the presence of Vitamin D, but some would say that in this case, the part of actual sheep wool is too small to be considered problematic.
It is suggested that vegans opt for some other kind of Cereal – this sugary kind should be avoided for many reasons.
The same case is with other flavorings of this type of Cereal – Chocolate, Chocolate with Marshmallows, Cinnamon, and classic with Marshmallows.
Clearly, none of these kinds is considered to be vegan, and our suggestion is to choose something else instead.
Are Frosted Flakes Healthy?
Despite the number of vitamins and minerals that are put in it, this type of Cereal cannot be called healthy – nothing is going to happen if you eat it occasionally, but not constantly.
Other things that you will consume in your vegan diet are fine – the best way for you will be to eat as much unprocessed, wholesome foods, and a colorful vegan diet will provide you with many nutrients, and if you still have a healthy, stress-free lifestyle.
Those who think that they will have some problems can take some dietary supplements other than Vitamin B12 to be used once a year, three months in a row.
Another difficulty that many vegans (but not others) have to deal with is the lack of iron in the body. If a thorough blood test reveals that you are missing this mineral, it is recommended to consume organic iron in liquid form, without alcohol, additives, and preservatives (and the same goes by taking it in some processed food like in this case. It is unnecessary to think that this is your source of vitamin).
Another very relevant aspect in this story is the presence of high fructose corn syrup is massively added to processed foods because it is cheaper and sweeter than regular sugar and extends the shelf life of processed foods.
In many countries, it is called glucose-fructose syrup or corn syrup and is present in almost all industrial products and products for children – sweetened and carbonated beverages, commercial bakery products, cereals, yogurts, desserts, puddings, biscuits, and sweets.
It should now be emphasized once again that box of these sugary cereals should be avoided – especially in the diet of children.
You must understand that the mass production goes something like this -by mixing boiled and ground cereals, flour and wheat starch, re-cooking, with frequent bathing in sugar syrup. Advertising on “healthy plant fiber” does little to make this product look good for your health.
Some would say that such sugary cereals are highly processed candy. Even if it says it is “organic” or has no additives or has a tiger drawn for fishing – this is not for eating.
Make your own, or choose some healthier version; we are sure that you can find in the market.
To sum up this story, we must say that because of the ingredient or addition of Vitamin D, this type of Cereal is not vegan. Another problem that we have discusses so many times is the appearance of sugar, that is not an option for so many vegans out there.
Now, there are is one element, besides all these others that are questionable, and that is sheep’s wool that can be found in an indirect way, and this is the aspect that causes the problem for vegans.
There is no doubt that this kind of Cereal is tasty, but you should opt for something else that has a confirmed vegan status, just like EnviroKids Organic Lightly Frosted Amazon Flakes. In them, the sign vegan is clear, and there cannot be any doubt that it can work for you and your vegan family.
In the end, we would say one more thing that should be your motto in every diet or change of lifestyle – everything you need to know if you use them in your diet is not too different from what you already know about other types of foods: just as little processed foods is a portion of good food.
Everything that comes in the box that is filled with artificial things cannot beat the real thing, vegan or non-vegan diet.
So, try to make your own food, even the most straightforward and even recipes that you can change during the time; it is the beauty of food that should remain beautiful and joyful, even in times when you change your diet to vegan. Especially then.