Are Chips Ahoy Vegan?
Maybe the best way to start with your vegan diet, in a sense that you are thinking of starting it, but you are not sure where to begin and what to it, maybe a three-week program of “cleansing” from unhealthy eating habits can help you in that process.
Here we are talking about the cleansing process, after which you will feel better, and cleansed, but not just that you will see and feel what it takes to be a vegan. You will have to make some choices in your diet and lifestyles and think of what you eat.
Now, for many, the hardest part is finding the right sweet, and this is even harder when you know the favorite tastes from your childhood, such as chocolate chip cookies, the most notably, the one that we all know – Chips Ahoy.
Most of us have tried it, many of us love it, but can this cookie be a part of the diet that is vegan?
Look for the answers here!
It is not Chips, and it is a cookie
This type of cookie is one of the most loved and famous chocolate chip cookies in the world, in the USA especially, and those who had started a vegan diet most often wonder are this cookie vegan.
There is a cult following when it comes to the chocolate chip cookies – they find their place in the culture, and we all can think of the vision of warm chocolate chip cookie that is dipped in warm milk. Is there anything better than this?
Many say that the best versions of this cookie are those that are homemade, but we all know that there are so many delicious cookies on the market that you can choose to suit your taste. One of the most famous in the world and in some way a synonym for the perfect chocolate chip cookie is the one that is sold as Chips Ahoy.
They fall, as you will be able to see under the category of traditional, tasty and amazing chocolate chip cookies that are made out of butter and eggs, so in the beginning, we will tell you that this sweet is not vegan, because of both milk and eggs are not vegan, but what is not vegan are some other ingredients that are found in this beautiful cookie.
We are mentioning eggs and milk in this case, because they are the usual ingredients of many chocolate chip cookies.
They come in a variety of tastes – and as we could see, they are not vegan (but we will elaborate this in some further sections, where we will meet you with the ingredients that are found in them), and what is even more problematic is that not just the eggs and butter that make some cookie vegan, there is also a whey that is also a dairy product.
So, there are numerous aspects that are problematic for vegans when it comes to this cookie.
These cookies got their name from a novel from 1859, and it is “The Uncommercial Traveller” that was written by Charles Dickens – in it, there is one sentence that mentioned Chips Ahoy.
The mascot for Chips Ahoy was called Cookie Man that was in some 00s substituted by the Cookie Guy. Both had a cult following and are adored by many.
Numerous celebrities like to eat it, and many of them participated in the commercials of this product.
The company that makes them often organizes challenges that revolve around this cookie.
Many people use them as a base for some other cakes and cookies they make, you can find so many recipes online – they are usually used as a base for the cheesecake, or some use to make cookie butter and eat it as such.
Let us speak some more about the ingredients that are found in this kind of chips cookie – so that we can find out are the vegan or not; ingredients are the primary way to discover, is something compatible with your vegan diet or you should avoid it.
For some, it is also the way of preparation and the production of the ingredients themselves, but for now, it is more about what are the ingredients in Chips Ahoy.
They are primarily made out of enriched flour – it is wheat flour that is enhanced with vitamins b2 and b1, reduced iron, niacin, folic acid.
Also, another ingredient that is mandatory in this cookie – it is semisweet chocolate that comes in chips, there comes the name.
They are made out of sugar, of course, then cocoa butter, chocolate, dextrose (a valuable source of fast energy. All other carbohydrates must first be converted to glucose before being used for energy purposes in the body) and soy lecithin.
Also in Chips Ahoy, you can find soybean oil, high fructose corn syrup, and something that will elevate the cookie, like baking soda.
In the end, there is a bit salt, some natural and synthetic flavoring, and caramel coloring.
All of this combined simply makes it impossible for vegans to enjoy them.
Are Chips Ahoy vegan?
As you can see this sweets do contain soy, wheat, and milk, and therefore this cookie is not vegan, because there are some ingredients that are not vegan, and the “problematic” part starts from butter, chocolate and flavoring, and further.
If you are a vegan that is taking care of his or her vegan diet, you cannot eat this cookie because you have to pay a lot of attention on what you eat and to read the ingredients label, and if you do you will see that this traditional cookie cannot be a part of your diet. Here, there are so many animal-based ingredients.
But, we must inform you that there is a variety of truly amazing vegan sweets that remade out of some nut butter (any kind you like, with added, for example, coconut oil) that is baked into the dough and baked, and some vegan chocolate chips are added. Of course, you can add something else, like chopped nuts, etc. You can alter the chocolate chips with some chocolate chunks, or you can melt it and then add it.
Are Chips Ahoy healthy?
Although veganism is much more than a diet and is considered a way of life, we can (occasionally) “steal” some of their habits from vegans and cleanse the body – some say that such a diet can help you clean the body and the soul. In this sense, you can include some sweets in your diet, but they cannot be these cookies.
The best alternative is to make them yourself, as we have said, there are so many alternate versions that you can find online.
One more thing that we must address is that these cookies not just that they are not vegan, they are not “healthy”, in a sense that they are sweets and cannot be eaten too much, because of the sugar that is their mandatory part. No one said that you could not eat them, but moderation is the key.
Sugar and fats are considered the unhealthiest foods when it comes to health, but scientists warn that there is something unhealthy about the two foods – soybean oil. It is also found here.
It is one of the most commonly used vegetable oils, and half of the vegetable oils produced in the world are soybean oil. Although you do not have to have this type of oil in the liquid state on the shelf in the kitchen, it is very often an ingredient in prepared, processed foods in cans and similar packages.
Take a good look what you eat and what you buy in stores – many of the cookies that you find in the market, and that is “vegan”, healthy”, or branded as both, they, in fact, have a composition that it is absolutely the same as any other ordinary cookie, only it differs in that it does not mix plain white but integral flour, for example. It has a ton of calories and a ton of carbs, and is certainly not healthy.
Just because something is vegan, does not mean that it does not have some form of fat -especially when it is consumed often and in large quantities.
Look for the sweets that have a lot of fiber, and they can be a much better alternative. True, it is a source of energy, but it is necessary to consume that energy almost immediately after intake because all these carbohydrates are simple.
Always look for the cookies that have a large amount of dark chocolate and less sugar. There are far healthier alternatives to milk chocolate and concentrated sugars.
This is one kind of cookie that exists since the 60s, and it is the sweet that is known for great marketing tactics. Adults and kids love it, but they are not vegan.
You can take a look at the market in your countries and find a version of Chips Ahoy that complies your vegan standards, but the one that we have spoken of is not vegan. Even when you look at some other version, they still do not fall under the category of vegan.
It is what it is, and it has been such for decades, so those who do not pay attention to their waistline and are not vegans can eat it and the rest must find some alternative versions that are vegan-friendly.
In the end, one advice for all of you who want to eat better – educate yourself first, and then make some food choices.