Are Corn Flakes Vegan?
All households should have certain things in their pantry – flour, rice, pasta, etc. (we are speaking of some items that could stand in the home a while, that is fulfilling, and can be combined with some other products). It can be the basis of everything else you can eat, and it usually is, in vegan or any other way of life.
The choice is yours, as well as the way of preparation, and when you are a vegan, you need to be extra careful what you buy, because not every pasta is vegan, just as not every bread is, etc. They need to fulfill certain conditions, of course.
Now, many of us have at least (some even more) one box of cereal around the house and also Corn Flakes that are lying somewhere around the house.
What is great when it comes to Corn Flakes is its somewhat neutral taste; they are neither sweet not salty, they can be combined with so many other ingredients, but the question is, can vegans eat them?
This is the question we want to address and help all those vegans who want to have such breakfast.
Made by chance
Just like so many other discoveries around the world, this one also is made by chance – the two brothers Will and John Kellogg, made it; they wanted to make something out of stale wheat. The story goes that it lay down and that they want to use it.
They made a dough out of stale wheat and then push it through the roller, and the final result was amazing crumbly flakes that had a somewhat natural taste (and we are not saying this in a bad way, pasta also does not have a strong or any taste, but it is the basis for so many incredible dishes). The two brothers clearly succeeded.
This was first sent to the patient in Sanatorium – it turns out that the patients adored them, and the brothers keep making it until they have reached the product we know and love today. The wanted to improve its taste and structure, and they succeeded.
Today, the main thing when you think of Corn Flakes is that they are made by so many other brands and that they are considered good for bodyweight reduction. When people want to avoid eating bread or pastry for breakfast, they opt for something like this, but it does not mean Corn Flakes can make you fat because they can if you eat them in large quantities.
One interesting thing is this also – over time this type of cereal became a household because it is used in the preparation of a variety of foods, not just as foods consumed exclusively for breakfast – used for cooking, baking meat, fish, cheeses, cheese, cakes, sweets, creams. Crushed cornflakes are also used as a substitute for flour in the cake crust, which in turn makes the sweet temptations of the basket healthier and more dietary.
Now, our question was, can vegans eat them?
Let us take a good look at the ingredients list before we make this call and we need to look in the preparation process to determine are they are vegan. The Corn Flakes are made out of whole-grain cornmeal (94.6%) – this is the primary element, but there are some others that make Corn Flakes taste so good.
They are glucose syrup, vegetable fat, calcium carbonate, sugar, cinnamon, Maltodextrin, gluconate, and salt. All of these ingredients are typically added to cereals, and they do not come from an animal source.
As you can see, they do not have any ingredient that could raise the alarm, and stop vegans from eating them, expect the problem of sugar, which may or may not be the problem, depended on your vegan views.
Some have a problem with its production, and we are talking about white sugar, and others say that there is not much sugar, so that it can cause the problem.
If you eat or snack, as many people do eat Corn Flakes in such a way, you must know that they are very rich in carbohydrates, vitamins, and minerals. In the case, if you have not added anything in them, then you know that you did not take in so many calories.
Cheaper variants of Corn Flakes can be found on the market, with various preservatives, stabilizers and flavor enhancers added, and it is the best for you to avoid them, and if you buy, you should buy a real deal. And once again, we say that the simplest version often goes a long way.
On the market, there are not so many products that can be eaten as these ones – and they are made from boiled corn kernels and on the market, you can easily find those with some added chocolate, honey, dried fruit, various syrups, cocoa, some nuts or oats.
People usually make them with some milk, fruit juice, etc. They are suitable for adding so many different things to them.
Are Corn Flakes Vegan?
Yes, they are, it is suitable for vegans and vegetarians – and the fact that its production was related to the discovery of suitable food for the vegetarian diet of some patients, then you has your answer.
Also, when we look at the production of Corn Flakes, we do not see anything alarming – the corns are boiled for some time, then crushed and made into crunchy flakes that must be baked. After that, they are baked in a special oven. After that, some flavors are added, sugar syrups, and similar. Vitamins and minerals are added later on in the process.
If you have them in your home, you can eat them even if you are a began, just take a look at how you store them, so you do not make them dry or too soft.
This cross-section that we have conducted is related only to a regular kind of Corn Flakes, the simplest version, not the ones with additions.
Are Corn Flakes healthy?
Do you take cornflakes for breakfast? Are you under the impression that they are healthy and ideal for weight loss? It’s time to think hard – the answer cannot be simplified.
Cereals of any kind, including Corn Flakes, can be a good breakfast option if you choose the ones that have less sugar and fat and contain the right amount of nutrients. But if you make the wrong choice, your cereal can contribute to weight gain and many other health problems that come with obesity, like diabetes, etc.
Many of us think that corn flakes with milk are a safe and healthy breakfast with a high content of nutrients, vitamins, minerals, carbohydrates, and low fat.
But the truth is that the flake box contains corn, sugar, and high fructose corn syrup. Of all these ingredients, corn syrup contains a high glucose index. The percentage of sugar in Cork Flakes is still higher then you think, and on top of this, some people like to add some sweetener or fruits that also have sugar. This increases the sugar content and will result in weight gain on a regular basis, and it can be bad for your teeth, in the case of young children even bigger problems.
Various results have shown that flake intake causes obesity. Just to be clear, we are not saying that you will jeopardize your health and become fat if you eat Corn Flakes, of course not; but the large intake, with many sugary additions, is not a good idea.
All traditional weight loss techniques follow one thing in common – eating as few calories as possible. This is also true in the case of Corn Flakes. Most cornflake packs recommend a 30 gram serving with 12—semi-skimmed milk. Vegans should opt for vegan options of milk; on the market, you can find numerous versions that are equally tasty and work the “job.”
Nutrients say that they are low in protein, so maybe an idea of adding something extra to them is not a bad idea – fruits, nuts, whole grains; some people like to eat the mixture of oats and Corn Flakes, for example.
Healthy foods are not easily available in store-bought packages, so think seriously about what kind of food you and your kids have for breakfast. But, this does not have anything with their vegan status. If you are a vegan, you must be extra careful regarding everything we have said, because some food is simply not available for you.
As you could see, Corn Flakes are just one of the things you can eat while you are a vegan – in any case, besides whole wheat, millet, fine corn, and rye flour, vegetables, and fruits, you must have at least one bags of Corn Flakes.
Sometimes you would not be in a mood to prepare some whole wheat bread and some homemade hummus and just crave for this simple and sweet, this could be your perfect choice.
Various types of cornflakes can be consumed at breakfast, and are intended for both young and old alike, but only if they are not much sweetened – either natural or artificial sweeteners (the chemical sweeteners should be avoided by all cost, it is better to use a lump of regular white sugar, then artificial sweeteners).
Combined with vegan milk, dried fruits, and various seeds, Corn Flakes can be (occasionally) a portion of quality food that guarantees a healthy start to the day.
Now, in the end, we would like to give some additional tips when you are making vegan food at your home. For sweetening treats, we advise maple and brown rice syrup and use unrefined brown sugar and agave syrup only occasionally.
It’s also a good idea to have dried coconut sliced around the house, coconut flour, dark vegan chocolate, cinnamon, and bourbon vanilla powder so you can prepare healthy, vegan desserts quickly without resorting to unhealthy breakfast treats.
In any case, enjoy as much as you can, because food, at the end of the day, should be enjoyed, not a burden on your shoulder and the unwanted task. If you are following a vegan diet, enjoy as much as you can – and experiment with your favorite food.