Are Animal Crackers Vegan?
Some people say that the hardest part of their vegan diet is the one where they have some cravings, but they want to eat something that does not comply with their vegan diet.
It is more about the habit of theirs, but the food is in some parts out habit (we eat in a way that our parents and family eat, and we take in, in some smaller part, the eating habit from our environment). If you come from a family that you are used to eating a lot of meat in every meal, it is a challenge to transfer to a vegan diet.
Now, we are not talking about the sweets cravings, but the ones that must be under the vegan rule – no meat, no dairy, it must be animal-free, and cruelty-free.
Now, cravings are not just sweet, many of us like snacks that are savoury, and that we can easily make and eat, they are not complete meals, but they are certainly great.
Yes, we are talking about crackers! There are so many kinds of crackers, so many manufacturers that make them, and on the marker, you can find numerous kinds, and some of them are indeed vegan!
Besides this, on the market, you can find those that are just like crispy bread – these thin crackers with a variety of seeds and oatmeal—a true discovery for all vegans who like to snack.
Today, we are looking at one particular kind – Animal Crackers – we want to discover, is this very popular, just like thin and crunchy bread that can be used as a substitute for regular bread. And nowadays you can buy them in numerous countries all over the world.
Here we are going to examine are the vegan, and are they healthy.
Animal Crackers – crackers in the shape of animals
Here we meet one very popular, and at times a controversial salty cookie, or a cracker – the shapes they come in are those that you can usually see in a circus, or in the zoo.
These crackers are known for their design where all animals are depicted in cages, just like you would see them in the zoo, and after many years the design was altered, the animals were free (they were depicted without the cages).
These crackers were imported in the 19 century from England where they were called biscuits to the USA. Now it is sold worldwide.
Each package has 22 animal-shaped cookies – kids adore them.
Some of the animals that are found in the box are sheep, zebra and rabbit, but also tiger, penguin, etc.
In the process of discovery are Animal Crackers vegan, we need to look into the ingredients list and see are the truly vegan.
The ingredients that come into the Animal Crackers are primarily these: enriched flour (we discussed this flour many times, and it is basically a wheat our that has some nutrition’s inside), yellow corn flour (As the name implies, this flour is made from yellow corn.
Yellow corn flour contains a large number of minerals as well as vitamin E. It is a flour that is obtained by finely grinding corn kernels and is yellow in color), soybean oil, soy lecithin (emulsifier), sugar, cottonseed oil that has been partially hydrogenated, and of course a baking soda that is an elevator in this case.
Also, one of the ingredients there goes high fructose corn syrup, salt and artificial flavor. We must add that in them there also goes some vitamins B1 and B2, along with the folic acid and calcium carbonate (the commercial for the Animal Crackers states that they are an amazing source of calcium and this is the reason why so many parents choose to give them to their kids).
Many people choose to give them to their kids, and bit by bit it becomes a favorite snack in every household.
Gluten-free, rich in protein and fiber that has a positive effect on digestion. The biggest part of these crackers so many people adores is the one nutritive part that makes them great for storage Vitamin A, C, D, K and B, a mineral of phosphorus, manganese, calcium, potassium, magnesium and iron.
They are great in this sense, and today they come in many shapes and flavors, it is up to you to make one that suits your diet.
Are Animal Crackers Vegan?
If we take an in-depth look at the ingredients list, we can say that these crackers are for sure suitable for vegans – all that you find in these crackers are vegan, but we understand what the part that makes such confusion is.
It is also clear that even their name is Animal crackers, they do not have anything do to do with animal sources and do not come from animals, they are shaped in the form of different animals, and this is what makes the entire confusion comes from, but do not let this stop you from enjoying them.
As you were able to see in these crackers, there are no dairy ingredients, or milk, not even eggs. Everything that is used in their production is considered to be vegan.
All vegetarians and vegans that are reading this piece can eat Animal crackers as much as they want.
For those who are concern about the animal suffer in the production of this salty cookie, they need to be careful and know what they are talking about.
The company that makes them Nabisco has even stated that in the 90s they have restricted number of packaging that emphasized threatened varieties to boost consciousness and supplies.
In some of the previous sections, we have said how this company changed its marketing and notoriety when they have “released” animals from the cages.
Are Animal Crackers Healthy?
Most of us, part of the majority, do so, and I start the morning thinking about what to eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner. What I think about much less are healthy snacks and a snack that is very wrong.
Snacks and bites are very important because they can make a big impact on our body, if you eat the right kind you will make something great for your body, and if you choose something too sweet, for example, you will make a problem for yourself.
It is not easy to withstand the calls of the body for white sugar pleasures, but think about how good they are for a long time. Snacks and bites should contain healthy nutrients, fiber, fruits and protein. The benefits of fiber and fruit are well known to everyone, and it is the protein that gives us a sense of saturation and energy.
Animal Crackers are the perfect choice for all of us, even those who are on a vegan diet.
They contain so many nutrients and minerals that are essential for your body, and they are in the enriched flour, but there is one more thing that is healthy in this story.
As we have said these biscuits contain a yellow corn flour and it does not contain gluten, so for the dough to grow it should be mixed with another type of flour in the production of bakery products.
In addition to this, some Animal crackers contain protein, coconut sugar, coconut oil, chia seeds, sesame seeds, rice protein and cinnamon.
You can make your own vegan cracker
Many vegans avoid eating bread because it at times is not vegan. So the best way is to make your own version of bread, or if you want to eat it as a snack, crackers.
Some like to eat them sweet, some salty, some thinner, some are more delicious with numerous toppings and additions, and all of this is ok. For vegans, it is truly important to look at the ingredients that you put in your crackers.
Since most of these homemade crackers are made from different types of seeds and are really great for nibbling, they can be renamed as “healthy snack” or “salty crackers”. For your kids, you can make them resemble Animal Crackers; on the marker you can find so many cutters in the shape of animals.
Here, this homemade version of crackers, is salty and nutritious, as it contains these ingredients are salty protein crackers. It is made organic, without the use of synthetic chemicals, pesticides and fertilizers, without preservatives, artificial colors and emulsifiers, which further makes these crackers taste and healthier.
Here is one interesting recipe that you can make your own, and in this sense, you can make it in any shape you want – you get one very healthy snack.
You can use some pumpkin seeds, oatmeal, flax seeds, sesame; sunflower seeds some flour and some elevating factor, like a baking soda.
You can also use a bit of salt and pepper, some olive oil and a bit of mildly warm water.
Mix all ingredients and mix into the dough that should be smooth, and then you cut them in any shape you like, they could be cut in oval, or round shapes, but also in flowers, or animals. Heat the oven on 200 degrees and bake them for about 20 minutes.
These crackers have a household name and recognition, especially in America, but also in other countries. All generations love it, and it is the most loved salty cookie that comes in a very interesting box that is illustrated with the images of animals.
They are vegan, in them, there are no animal ingredients, and all vegans can consume them. But, here there is one issue that may be problematic for vegans.
Some scientists say that eating animals, even in the form of crackers, can be seen as a part of a ritual that is not according to a vegan standard. But this is just one point of view.
Swap snacks like chips and flips that are unhealthy with healthy crackers for yourself and your kids, you’ll get a lot more nutrition, fewer calories and better taste – you can find all of this in Animal Crackers that are also vegan.
Choose healthy snacks in between the meals or you can add them into the breakfast or late dinner, with some additions, and you have all that you need in just one bite.