Are Jelly Beans Vegan?
There is a lot of controversy regarding the vegan diet since it became popular in the world (maybe nowadays more than ever having in mind a large variety of options and online information that is easy to acquire), and while some say that it is not good and that does not provide elements that are sufficient for development and health, others say that it does, and that is not only completely appropriate in all stages of life, including childhood, but also provides certain health benefits over other dietary options.
All of us remember the wise advice that came from the books of the pediatrician, Doctor Benjamin Spock where he says that a vegan diet is completely ok even for children – he says that they do not have to eat any animal product and that they will remain healthy. He has scientifically supported view is that veggy nutrition is optimal for healthy growth and development of children.
Now, if you follow this lead, you will know that this diet is suitable for adults also, but we must say that everyone has a choice and that the beauty in life is that you have so many options to choose from and that you do not have to stick with just one for the rest of your life. Some would disagree that this type of diet does not give all that the adult body needs, but there are so many proofs that speak otherwise.
Also, we must say that while you know that you should have in your diet a lot of fruits and vegetables, the aspect that is most certainly problematic is the one part where you have to give up sweets if you want to follow this type of diet. There is nothing that could substitute the great sugar rush that we gain from eating sweets, but we know that most of them are not good for you, and many do not fall under the vegan diet.
But, we must be honest and say that nowadays especially you can make your own candies from products that you know are vegan; or you can buy store-bought that are labeled as vegan (you just need to get a closer look to the labels and know what you are reading, articles like this one can certainly help you in that process).
Today, we are dealing with one candy that is a fan favorite for many years, but are they vegan – we are talking about Jelly Beans.
On the market, today, you can truly find hundreds of manufacturers that are creating this candy, and all of them use different ingredients.
Jelly Beans – candy made for the president
We can say with a major certainty that the Jelly Beans are one of the most popular candies around the globe that are present on the market for more than 100 years. You, just like everyone else, must certainly try them once in your life, especially when you were a child – may be the name of the manufacturer was different, but you have certainly tried some type of Jelly Bean.
Right at the start we must say that there are so many production companies around the world that make them, and of course, they make them from different ingredients, and they have a somewhat different structure and taste, but for our mission today we must find out what these chewy and delightful sweets include?
The most notable company that produces these candies is Jelly Belly, and they make so many of them that they different one from another.
One of the interesting information that is connected to the production of this candy is that it takes a truly long time to make them, right up to one week to almost three weeks.
This treat came into the US market in the 19 century, but the roots of it stretch down to the old Turkey, where it was first produced – bean-like sweets.
When Jelly Beans came into the market, usually they were a part of a Christmas feast; they were special and not eaten daily, just when the special occasion arises.
One US president loved them so much that he ate them all the time – it was Ronald Reagan. For his desires, the company made the blue ones that had a taste of blueberries.
The most popular flavor of these candies is cherry as one research around the world has proven.
Here is one disturbing fact regarding Jelly Beans – today on this wide expanded market, these small treats come in a large variety of tastes – like beer or maple syrup. Online we found a piece of information that you can find a Jelly bean that taste like vomit!
Now the most important stuff before we make a verdict are Jelly Beans vegan, and we must find out what they are made from – right at the start have in mind that the ingredients in Jelly Beans vary a lot depending on the manufacturer that produces them.
They usually do not have gelatin, which is god for vegans, since it comes from an animal source and it is the first thing that you look when you want to buy a vegan-friendly piece of candy. Then, they do not include beeswax – ethical vegans would not eat candies that include this element, but in the Jelly Bean, there is none of it (usually, of course, some does, depending on the company).
Here we can find sugar and corn syrup as usual; then there is fruit concentrate and puree, modified food starch, carnauba wax that is used instead of beeswax. Salt and caffeine are also used in the production of Jelly beans alongside Citric Acid, Fumaric Acid, Lactic Acid, Malic Acid and Phosphoric Acid.
Natural and Artificial Flavors are also present, alongside cocoa powder and butter, coffee, vanilla beans, soy lecithin, tapioca dextrin and sodium lactate (it is the acidity regulator that is completely natural, it emulsifier salt and hardener. As a cosmetic ingredient, an excellent moisturizer that helps strengthens skin elasticity, and as you can see, it is used in the food/candy industry).
The problem that some vegans have are Confectioners’ glaze that can be found in this product, it can be vegan, but sometimes it comes from dairy products, and it is not vegan. Sugar that we have spoken so many times is also a problem for some vegans; and in the end, food colors that are used.
First, some say that they are tested on animals and that the red that is used is the one that comes from insects.
Are Jelly Beans Vegan?
We must say that all vegans should be very careful when they are eating this type of candy – some of them are vegan, while others have some elements that are not vegan-friendly. They are also, in some cases, not suitable for vegetarians -the problem is when they contain gelatin.
So, to ease yourself this process, as usual, we are saying that you should always read the label and avoid these components; beeswax, gelatin, confectioner’s glaze, among others.
All of the ingredients that we have spoken in the ingredients section are suitable for vegans, but we must say that not every package of Jelly Bean on the market has the same exact elements; so when you buy them, you must know what you are looking for.
We must say that on the market you can find so many interesting and vegan and vegetarian-friendly snacks that resemble Jelly Bean that you can enjoy it very much.
Are Jelly Beans Healthy?
This candy is a fan favorite, as we have said, but the fact is that they are sweet and that they cannot always allow you to follow your vegan diet.
Now, as far as the health department is concerned, we must notice that a large number of acids that are present in Jelly Beans and the constant worry -are they safe to eat?
Besides the common worry regarding the amounts of sugar, corn syrup etc., that are not healthy to eat in large quantities for the known reasons, other ingredients that are found in this candy are also safe to consume – some of them are actually very natural and healthy like cocoa beans and vanilla beans and cocoa butter.
Now, as you can notice for yourself, there are a lot of acids that are used in the production of Jelly Beans, and you may wonder, is it safe to consume them.
Fumaric acid is a chemical that is safe to use in the food industry to stop unwanted boiling, growth of some bacteria or mould. It is an organic composite that attains in the form of calcium and magnesium salts. In food technology, it is used as a preservative, acidulant and source of iron.
Also, one more acid that is present in Jelly Beans is phosphoric acid -and the part that comes as a worrying is a fact that it is one of the most powerful acids that are used in the production of all types of phosphates, then for the manufacture of rust-proofing agents, for dental fillings, for the manufacture of medicines. It is one of the few non-toxic and harmless acids and therefore works as an acidifying factor for many soft drinks.
So, there is nothing to worry in this sense, but of course, nothing is good to consume in large portions, so try to have balance.
The worrying part comes from the fact that Jelly Beans do have one ingredient that is not considered healthy at all, especially in large quantities – caffeine. In addition to coffee, it is also found in tea, energy drinks, chocolate, chewing gum, sweets and even weight loss pills.
It is also very often found in jelly candies and chips, but it is increasingly present in chewable forms, such as “energy candy”, in which it reaches up to 5,555 milligrams per 100 grams, which is like 139 cups of coffee. Having in mind that Jelly Beans also have it alongside coffee extract, it is something to think about if you want to stay healthy.
Considering the peacefulness and good nature of the vegan idea and lifestyle, the propagation of peace and nonviolence, and acting accordingly, many tend to connect vegans with hippies and, in general, people with unreliable worldviews. Uneducated individuals tend to shake hands at the idea of stopping the exploitation of animals, out of ignorance, which because of their belief in the feasibility of such an endeavor.
This also points to the fact that the problem of animal exploitation is regulated, sound and extensive in society. Such an internalized belief system, which includes the idea that the exploitation of animals is natural, that they are created and exist for humans, and that humanity’s survival depends on eating animals, falls into the water with just one glance at any vegan.
What we try to tell you is that you always must try to look deeper from your ordinary point of view before you can make any judgment about the people who are vegan.
Now, in this piece we tried to give you as much possible information regarding a vegan diet and the question can you include Jelly Beans in it, or are they vegan?
As far as the Jelly Beans goes – there are so many of them on the market, and you can choose the ones where they say that they are vegan, just take a good look that they do not include beeswax, confectioners’ sugar or some color like Red 4 that comes from insects. There are various kinds of Jelly Beans that you can choose according to your diet; take a good look at the label, and you will know what to do.
However, vegans can still eat jelly beans from various labels that are on the market – nowadays many companies that produce some famous items, like candy Jelly Beans, in this case, are turning to a healthier version, and the one that is vegan-friendly.