Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Vegan?
How many times have you heard that breakfast is the most important part of the day, both as a meal and as a start of the entire day? So it is truly relevant what you eat at this time of a day.
Also, we all know that good breakfast will fill you up, it won’t be heavy on your stomach, it will be nutritious and why not delicious.
The perfect breakfast for anyone of us, regardless of our diet choices or lifestyles choices, can be something that is fresh and healthy, that will give us the strength to move and start the day that is ahead of us, and the same case is when we choose the first meal of the day for our children.
Nutritionists agree that it is truly important to teach your kids to eat right and to never skip breakfast, especially when they go to school.
It can be some fresh-squeezed juice, some egg, and toast, but many of us opt for oatmeal or some type of cereal, and we must say that if it is organic, without any additional sugars and ingredients, it is a truly good choice. You can always mix it up as you want to make it sweet or savory.
It is also suitable for vegans – this is true when you make your own meal, then you know what you have put inside, and where it all came from.
But what happens with the store-bought cereals that are on the market? Is there any kind that we can eat if we follow a vegan diet?
What about all those who love to eat Cinnamon Toast Crunch – can they eat them? Are they vegan? They are certainly delicious and one of the most favorite cereals, besides Lucky Charms, for example.
Cinnamon Toast Crunch – the most popular way to eat cinnamon for breakfast
I don’t know if you noticed, but the market in almost any country in the world is flooded with various cereals, and the market is growing more and more.
Manufacturers are inventing new flavors, producing gluten-free cereals, for diabetics, without artificial colors, with less fat, etc., and of course, they make especially those that are perfect for all vegan shoppers.
We already know that if a product says it is gluten-free or free of artificial colors and preservatives, it does not automatically mean that it is a good product.
The same case is when you do not notice that some product has some animal element, but the truth is that they can be hidden, often in some unusual places.
So many of us have tasted this extremely tasty cereal (and just the name says it all it is crunchy, deliciously cinnamon and it has taste just like French toast, one of the best breakfasts or branches there is), and its popularity is even bigger nowadays, where online you can find millions of recipes that show you how you can use them for making sweets.
Cinnamon Toast Crunch is not the one type that is reserved only for children; on the contrary, so many adult buyers enjoy its remarkable taste.
On the market, you can find so many versions of basically the same product.
Online you can find so much information about the vegan status of Cinnamon Toast Crunch, but the safest way to find out is the vegan is to observe its ingredients list.
Some say that contains milk in traces, others claim it does not, and we say that maybe some manufacturers make it in a different way.
So, in it, we can find these ingredients – rice flour, whole grain wheat, canola oil, sugar, and fructose.
Also, in it, there is salt, cinnamon, along with the caramel color—Maltodextrin, trisodium phosphate, dextrose, soy lecithin, and BHT that is added to preserve freshness.
One very interesting part is that Cinnamon Toast Crunch is enhanced with some vitamins that are mandatory for human development, but as you will able to see, it is the cause of the problem in its vegan status. There can be found vitamins C, A, B, B12, D3, B2, B1, B6, iron, zinc, and calcium carbonate.
Just because something is cereal, it does not mean that it is vegan – the ingredient list shows it, even if there is no dairy in it or some carmine or casein that is very common in a different kind of cereal.
Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Vegan?
Now, when you look at the ingredient list, you can see that there is no obvious non-vegan source, like milk or dairy or even eggs (we must say that online, you can find some information that they do contain milk, but it is not the reason why they are not vegan, as you may be expected it to be).
The reason lies in one vitamin – vitamin D3! And you must wonder right now how is it possible that something that is vitamin can be connected with an animal source. It can, and we will show you how, but first a few words about this vitamin.
This is the vitamin called D3, and it is essential for the proper work of your body – it relates to the accumulation of liposoluble aggregates, which suggests that its release and resorption of lipids in a human organism.
Now, where is the problem? The source of vitamin D3 is the problem. How can this be since its source is the Sun, or its light, and mostly we need this vitamin in “artificial form, where there is no light, like in winter?
The most valuable simple reservoir of Vitamin D is our dermis (the skin as the largest organ in the human body), which is produced from provitamins by UV lights.
So, if you do not receive it from the Sun rays, then it is obtained from yeast and fungi, but the most abundant reservoirs of vitamin D3 are also dairy products, milk especially, but also fish and fish oil.
Not vegan, as you can see, and here is one more example to show you that the source of the Vitamin D3 is not vegan.
The most prominent source of vitamin D3 is eggs, and it is mostly concentrated in egg yolks. So, no vegan can eat them! Since this vitamin is found in Cinnamon Toast Crunch, the verdict is that it is no vegan.
Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Healthy?
As we have said, the market for cereals is huge.
For kids and those who love it, there are also chocolate cereals, and mostly they contain 50 to 100 kcal more than the regular ones.
Ammonium phosphatide glycerol is added as an emulsifier in so many cases, but so far, there is no indication that it is harmful.
In the cereals, we can also find oil, namely deep coconut, sunflower, and rapeseed oil. In 100 g bowl of cereal can be from 5 to 18 g of fat, of which 1-8g of saturated fatty acids.
The main ingredient in most cereals, and in this one, also is some type of grain, wheat; then there is dried fruit, like dry grapes, apricots, cranberries, bananas are usually added.
Dry fruits are known to have more calories than fresh fruits. However, this is not the main problem that nutritionists have with cereals of this kind.
You will often find an ingredient called sulfur dioxide on the declaration of dried fruit cereals. It is used to preserve food and prevent discoloration of the product.
Another ingredient added to preserve the color of the fruit is ascorbyl palmitate, but there is no evidence that it is harmful (but it also does not mean that it is good for you, and this is a big difference).
Citric acid is added to prevent the growth of microorganisms on dried fruit.
As with all industrial products, sugar is an indispensable ingredient (the same case Cinnamon Toast Crunch).
In just 100 grams of cereals, there can be found from 10 to 30 grams of sugar. But the point is that not just one type of sugar is added. In some products, you can found four different types (white sugar, glucose syrup, fructose syrup, and inulin).
A product like this can by no means is healthy for the body because it is a real sugar bomb. Honey is also added, but so is dextrose and Maltodextrin (not just that it not vegan, it is not healthy in large quantities).
In terms of dietary fiber content, this product may contain about 5 to 20 g. Another debatable item is the amount of salt, which can range from 5 to 20g.
Now, let us come to the more positive side – and this is the main star in Cinnamon Toast Crunch.
We all know that there are so many types of cinnamon, two most popular – Ceylon that originates in Burma. The Chinese type is the other kind. Their chemical composition is no different, but the taste is a bit diverse, and the Ceylon kind is considered to be a healthier version.
Having said this, you should have in mind that when you eat cinnamon, you are doing something really healthy for yourself – think of this every time you add it in your drink or food.
Medicine has also identified its characteristics, and it is astonishing for treating diabetics, it reduces blood sugar levels (diabetics should eat as much of this spice as they can).
Many researchers confirmed that taking just one teaspoon of this “exotic” spice, and you can do wonders for the blood sugar levels (if they are high).
This is not all – cinnamon is known to reduce fat and bad cholesterol, and that it can be used for preventing the growth of fungi.
It has an anti-inflammatory effect, and it can be used to lower body temperature when we are under some infection. It is said that it also has antimicrobial traits, so you can use it as a mouth wash.
Most of the cereals on the market do include soy lecithin, which in itself is terrible, and you should avoid it by all means if you can.
Always opt for organic oatmeal; you can mix it with dried grapes, chopped dried plums, ground flax. You can make your own version that is vegan.
Unfortunately for those who adore it, Cinnamon Toast Crunch is not vegan since it has vitamin D3 that is obtained from some animal sources.
In any case, if you are a vegan, try to find your own version, and if you can add cinnamon because it is great.
The cinnamon is known to do wonder for your brain, and it can make you more concentrated and also to remember better. This spice is a known source of iron, copper, zinc, and calcium, and besides its amazing taste, it is no wonder why such great tasting food is, in fact, a superfood added to coffee, cereals, toast, or juices.
Mostly, nutritionists agree that a product like this (Cinnamon Toast Crunch) is definitely not the best choice if you want a healthy breakfast, and it is not suitable for vegans.
What you can do is make your own version, if nothing else. Mix various flakes, dried fruits, fresh fruits, and various seeds.
Although shopping the box of cereals is unhealthy, there is still a good product to be found, and you just have to make a good look at the declaration.