Is Chex Mix Vegan?
A healthy diet is the foundation of a healthy life, and it does not matter how old you are, what kind of diet you follow, and what is your personal preference.
We understand that nowadays there is a lot of contradictory information that comes from all sides, all of us are confused about what a healthy diet consists of, but there are some common rules that must be followed.
All of us know, kids and adults in different quantities should consume a large number of vegetables and fruits, unsaturated fatty acids, and whole grains daily – this is something that all of us know, but few of us live by, because of the hectic lifestyle we lead.
Of course, you can enjoy unhealthy snacks from time to time, it is human and understandable to do so, once again because of the lifestyle we lead, we are under the major stress and have so little time, and occasional snack to boost our sugar is ok.
But if you overdo them so much that it already borders on addiction, it’s time to quit because that instant pleasure that you have while you snack it does not compare the problem that you will put on your life.
If you are often tempted to eat some unhealthy snacks, it is time to get acquainted with what happens to your body when you eat unhealthy snacks – and this is just one part of the story about the snacks.
The other is related to our question – vegan snacks and what they can be. They are necessary for all of us, but what can vegans eat when they want some healthy snacks from a bag?
Here we encounter one interesting cracker snack mixture – there are 13 flavorings – and the astonishing part is the fact that you can make your combination to snack.
Unfortunately, this makes our quest even harder because there are so many things, additions, flavoring, in these 13 mixtures that we cannot know for sure are they vegan or not.
We will try.
All tastes rolled into one amazing and delicious mix
If you think about snacking, you cannot do anything else but picture yourself pulling some crunchy snacks from the big boxes, and the first thing that comes into our mind is Chex Mix, one of the best on the market.
Its manufacturer is General Mills, a company that makes some of the best-known cereals on the planet. These days they are producing a completely new brand that is dedicated to organic and natural products, including Annie”s and EPIC. The company produces everything from ice creams to pizzas and yogurts.
Chex Mix came into the market somewhere around the late 30s, and it became an instant hit, and party favor, and also the snack that you could eat on your journey and holidays. It is a mixture of all the salty things you like, packed into one bag.
The idea is not anything new – all of us mix some of our favorite snacks into one bowl, and some of us season it with our favorite spices and eat it in front of the TV. This company just put it into a box and made it a worldwide hit.
This snack is present in the worldwide market to this day, and it is expanding its popularity even today – the company is creating some new flavors to come closer to the new consumers.
Now, we could all agree that it is hard to resist this salty snack – but in the attempt to discover its vegan status, we must take a look at the ingredients list.
In one of these boxes of salty joy, the product varies, but most likely, you will find some breadstick, ships, cereals, and pretzels. Wait, pretzels? Are they vegan? In most cases they are. Also, there can find some crackers and nuts covered with chicken oil that is present to make the taste become even more pronounced.
Right away, all vegans should know that they must avoid such a salty snack, but to be completely objective, we will take a good look into the ingredients of the box of the original Chex Mix. If we want to discover are Chex Mix vegan, we will take a look at the original package or the traditional mix.
In this sense, when we look at the elements that were used to make this snack, we can come to the conclusion that it is vegan because it does not contain any product that comes from an animal source.
This snack is vegan, it does not contain dairy, milk, or eggs, and all vegans can eat it. What can be found here is wheat and soy.
Both of these elements are good for vegans to use, each in their own writings, wheat is mandatory in any menu, and soy can be an amazing substitute for other ingredients that are not available in a certain diet.
Soy can be used in so many different ways – as a drink, as protein extract, as a substitute for meat (that is extremely important for vegans).
Is Chex Mix Vegan?
As you were able to see – not all Chex Mix is vegan, because of so many of them clearly have ingredient that comes from an animal.
But there may be just an exception – we are speaking to those people who cannot resist this snack, and if they are already in a position to consume it, they must know what kind to choose.
There are just two kinds that may be vegan – it is the Traditional Chex Mix, and another is Popped Chex Mix. These two do not have any clear connection to the animal source, and this is the reason why we are saying that they are might vegan.
In this sense, we cannot say it for sure – because in both cases, there are not any precise animal products or dairy, but there are some distilled monoglycerides (some come from the plant, others from animals). They can be vegan, but it is not for sure.
Also, there is a matter of sugar, both brown and white – all combinations of Chex Mix has some sugar in them; there is no doubt.
Those vegans among you who have any issue in eating sugar, for known reasons – the way of production, the bone char that is included, as many big manufacturers that have massive production use it to make the sugar whiter.
Any other product in these two kinds is ok if you decide to consume.
The Kind to avoid for sure
Now, in this section, we want to warn on kinds that are certainly not safe to consume if you declare yourself as a vegan and if you follow that diet. They are proven to have some of the “restricted” elements.
The kinds that you must avoid by all costs are Honey Nut, Bold Party Mix, Cheddar, Hot and Spicy, Turtle, Dark Chocolate Chex, Sour Cream and Onion, Chex Mix Popped, Jalapeno Cheddar, Trail Mix Chex, Ghost Pepper, Honey BBQ, Chex Mix Muddie Buddies (Brownie Supreme, Cookies and Cream, Peanut Butter and Chocolate are not vegan because they contain milk or some of its products.)
You do not need to be an expert to know that Butter, Chocolate or Cheese are not allowed in a vegan diet. Avoid these kinds by all costs, and find some vegan alternative on the market.
Is Chex Mix Healthy?
Poor brain function due to fatigue and exhaustion results not only in the desire for sugar but also in the desire for any type of food full of fat, saturated fat, or salt. Many of us would fulfill this “gap” by consuming as many snacks as possible.
You know that such a diet is not good for you.
Fill your fridge, pantry, and kitchen cabinets with as many seasonal, organic vegetables as possible! Root, which grows underground, is rich in nutrients that supply us with strength and stability; and it also brings sweet, full, and rich flavors to our table. Carrots, celery root, and beetroot are most commonly used, but beets and radishes are just as good.
Many love sweet potatoes and potatoes, and cooking without onions and garlic is almost impossible to imagine, so always keep them close to your cutting board. Round vegetables, such as pumpkin and cabbage, provide long-lasting power.
Online you can find so many great vegan recipes -how to make a healthy and vegan snack from a vegetable.
In contrast, gently, green, leafy, such as chard, spinach, kale, lettuce, rocket, broccoli, wild greens, etc. – all of these for sure supply essential minerals and vitamins in a human body. Such food should be eaten, raw or cooked, with almost every meal! The list is not complete without the mighty fresh ginger – a friend to help with colds, flu, or stomach ache!
In any case, avoid store-bought snacks, and if you cannot, do not overdo it.
Because of the fast-paced lifestyle, habits, and challenges in colorful packaging, snacks are a pleasure to eat.
The problem is that we have not made a habit of planning meals and carrying them with us or buying foods that will provide the body with what it needs in order to function properly. This is why snacks are the most common choice. For vegans, it is even harder, so why don’t you make your own snack mix?
There is so much to choose from – dry, salty chickpeas or corn are a better option than classic popcorn. They’re full of fiber and protein, which means they’ll satiate you, and they’re delicious.
You can find them at health food stores or in special stores. You can basically make your own vegan snack mix – made out of nuts and easily prepared thinly sliced vegetables.
Chex Mix is one great snack that is available everywhere you go, and for all those vegans, it is good to know, can you eat them? Are they vegan friendly? Unfortunately, just the two kinds are, and that is not for sure, others have a lot of ingredients that are not vegan.
It is not the end of the world, having in mind all those other things you can consume as a vegan.